Types of Healthcare Identifiers

Healthcare Identifiers is a number that identifies a patient for healthcare purposes.

There are 3 types of Healthcare Identifiers.

Individual Healthcare Identifier (IHI)

IHI is for individuals getting healthcare services.

The system automatically assigns IHIs to every person enrolled in Medicare or registered with the Department of Veterans’ Affairs.

Healthcare Provider Identifier–Individual (HPI–I)

HPI-I is for individual healthcare providers.

They are for GPs, allied health professionals, nurses, dentists and pharmacists who provide patient care.

Healthcare Provider Identifier–Organisation (HPI–O)

HPI-O is for organisations.

They are for organisations delivering healthcare, such as hospitals or general practices.

Other organisations that help support the HI Service and My Health Record need to get a HI Service registration number. These include:

  • contracted service providers - generally IT organisations who manage or communicate health information on your behalf
  • general supporting organisations - organisations who provide infrastructure and information for the My Health Record system. They can also communicate with you and other supporting organisations.

Healthcare Provider Directory

The Healthcare Provider Directory is a listing of HPI-Os and HPI-Is.

You, and other registered healthcare providers can search for contact and specialty details and healthcare provider identifiers. This can be useful when you’re sending secure messages, referrals, discharge summaries and patient test requests.

If the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) regulates your profession, and you consent to include your professional and business details in the Healthcare Provider Directory, you also consent to us updating it to match your AHPRA details if they change.

If you’re not regulated by AHPRA, you can update your directory details in HPOS.

Page last updated: 21 April 2020