Telehealth areas

At the time of the video consultation, there must be 15 km by road between a patient and a specialist, consultant physician, or consultant psychiatrist.

Geographic eligibility for telehealth services is determined by the Australian Standard Geographical Classification - Remoteness Area (RA) classification, which is a numerical system between 1 and 5. A telehealth eligible area is outside of a major city (RA1).

You can check if a location is telehealth eligible by using Search the map on the Department of Health DoctorConnect website. Choose the 'ASGC Remoteness Areas Layer' and enter the address of your patient's location during the consultation.

Exceptions to this are where a patient is:

  • living in an eligible residential aged care facility
  • at an eligible Aboriginal Medical Service (AMS), or
  • at an eligible Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Service (ACCHS).

To be considered an eligible Aboriginal Medical Service or Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Service, the practice must hold a current exemption granted under section 19(2) of the Health Insurance Act 1973.

For more information regarding s19(2) exemptions, email the Department of Health at

Page last updated: 10 December 2021