What the locations are

There are different locations where COVID-19 lockdowns, hotspots or movement restrictions apply in New South Wales. There are also different payment periods.

Recognised NSW locations

These are the recognised NSW COVID-19 locations:

The location that applies to you depends which Local Government Area (LGA) you live in, work from or visited. You can check which LGA applies to you on the NSW Government website.

If you visited Sydney during the relevant periods and were then subject to a restricted movement order as a result, you may also be eligible.

If you live in other areas of NSW, you may be eligible for a payment from 18 July 2021.

You can only claim for one of these events. If you think you’re eligible for more than one, you need to decide which is best for you.

If you’ve already submitted a claim

You won’t have to submit another claim if you don’t have a change in circumstances and you’ve already claimed for either:

  • parts of Sydney from 15 July 2021
  • Greater Sydney and all other areas of NSW from 18 July 2021.

You’ll get a recurring payment into your account within 7 days of the start of each new period. Please do not call to check on your payment unless it's been longer than 7 days.

Next: How much you can get

The amount of COVID-19 Disaster Payment - New South Wales you can get depends on your situation.

Page last updated: 2 August 2021