Mutual obligations restart in Greater Brisbane

7 April 2021

From Wednesday 7 April 2021, if you live in this area, you must start meeting your mutual obligation or participation requirements.

This applies if you live in one of the following local government areas:

  • Brisbane
  • Logan
  • Redland
  • Moreton Bay
  • Ipswich.

Mutual obligation and participation requirements in these local government areas were paused due to COVID-19.

Your mutual obligation requirements are the tasks and activities you’ve agreed to do. They’re listed in your Job or Participation Plan.

You must meet these requirements if you get one of these:

  • JobSeeker Payment
  • Youth Allowance as a job seeker
  • Parenting Payment single, after your youngest child turns 6
  • Special Benefit paid under certain circumstances
  • ParentsNext as a compulsory participant.

There are suspensions and penalties for not meeting your requirements. You should talk to your provider if any of these apply:

  • you can’t go to an appointment or do an activity
  • you’re finding it hard to meet your requirements.

If you need a temporary exemption from your requirements, call us on your regular payment line.

Next steps

Read more about:

We recommend you do all your business with us by either:

Page last updated: 7 April 2021